Rituals and Habits Pre-Production-Editor’s Journal

2014.11.02. Movie Characters. Mean Girls (2004)
2014.11.02. Movie Characters. Mean Girls (2004)” by BarbieFantasies is licensed under CC BY 2.0.

Summary

As the editor for our film, I am responsible for taking the raw footage and audio and assembling that into a film that supports the creative intentions of our team-to create a film that is comedic and has an essence of reality tv. I will utilize the script and the storyboard and collaborate with my team members in order to do this. Through my editing, I will help to establish and support the genre of our film as a comedy by utilizing specific editing techniques unique to the comedy genre. Throughout this process I must also remain organized in order to effectively and efficiently produce our film.

I am following Jennifer Van Sjills editing chapter from her book Cinematic storytelling. In our film I will employ

  1. Montage (17)

Scene from Adaptation (2002) – (Can’t find clip on youtube)

This scene is an example given by Jennifer Van Sjill which shows a sequence of the entire history of mankind. This montage “takes us through the great evolutionary achievements of nature and of man”. For this scene, the montage gives the audience the opportunity to look inside the head of the protagonist. Montage allows you to manipulate time and focus the audience’s attention on an idea or in this case a character.

2. Intercutting (Cross-cutting) (21)

Intercutting happens when the editor cuts back and forth between two different scenes (in two different locations) in a sequence. This makes it seem like the two scenes are happening simultaneously but obviously in two different locations.

Example of Intercutting from Jennifer Van Sjill

Cabaret 1972-Int. Kit Klub – Night (Can’t find clip on youtube)

  • happens during climax of film, helps to build tension as audience has to balance their attention between two different scenes

3. Split Screen (22)

The split screen also creates the idea of “simultaneous action”. For Kill Bill, this is done to add dramatic value by exploiting the elasticity of time and place “that the split screen provides and is able to heighten the suspense of the scene”. For our film, I’ll use the split screen to add dramatic value when the characters are talking together on the phone.

4. Audio Bridge

Described as a type of scene transition by Jennifer Van Sjill, the audio bridge can be used to connect two shots or two scenes together “aurally”. Audio bridges can be employed by having an outgoing sound from one scene that continues over a new image or shot. I’ll use this in the first scene for sure, as the sound of the bell will carry over from the shot of the school to the shot of the characters. This will connect the two scenes.

5. Dissolve (23)

When one shot fades into another. Example seen in Citizen Kane in opening scene, each dissolve shows a different part of the estate. Dissolves help to link one idea to another. I will use this in order to effectively transition between scenes.

Test Shots

Split Screen – When the main characters are on the phone with each other, there will be a split screen in order to show each character on their own phone and in their own environment.

Montage – Montages are often used to create a fast-paced scene and are effective in manipulating time, and are done by editing together a series of shots that will demonstrate the passing of time. I will utilize this during scenes in the hallway to make them more engaging.

Jump cuts – Jump cuts are a type of cut where part of the footage is taken out in order to create a jump in time. This can be used to create emphasize a moment or create a sense of urgency within the scene.

Cross-cutting – Cross cutting is when an editor cuts back and forth between separate scenes that are happening at the same time. This will be vital for our story in order to create tension/build suspense and dramatize events.

J cut – J-cuts occur when the audio from the next scene begins playing before the image of the next scene is shown. I will utilize this to smoothly transition into the interviews.

Planning and Collaboration with Screenwriter

As the screenwriter worked on the script, I as the editor gave feedback when necessary, especially concerning the pacing and structure of the script because it will greatly affect my editing during post-production. It was important that the words in each scene would correlate to the next scene, so that I could easily transition during editing.

Planning and Collaboration with Director

We collaborated in order to create a storyboard. With the storyboard, I was able to create notations on it in order to visualize where I would include my editing film elements. We also discussed what techniques should be employed in order to support the genre of comedy (split-screen and cross cutting).

Planning and Collaboration with Cinematographer

I collaborated with the cinematographer to create a shot list, making sure that the shots included would work for the editing techniques I hope to employ. I also collaborated with the cinematographer in order to create a storyboard, also making sure there were scenes where I could use the editing techniques. For example, I made sure there was a phone call scene, so that I could utilize the split-screen technique.

Influences from Film

Our overall inspiration for this film comes from Reality television, and movies and shows where gossip is a central theme.

Mean Girls Four-Way Call Scene

In this scene from Mean Girls, editor Wendy Bricmont utilizes a four way split screen to portray four different characters on the phone. At certain points the scene switches from showing just one or two of the characters, when the emotions they are portraying or the words they are saying are important for the scene.

Fire Drill Scene from The Office

For our film, we hope to include interviews of the characters similar to how The Office does. This scene demonstrates how to handle the transition into an interview, by utilizing a j-cut (we can hear Dwight talking in the interview before he is shown at the “interview”).

Storyboard Notation

Rough Cut Plan –

Editing Program

Adobe Premiere Pro

This tutorial allowed me to recognize what type of film elements are often used to mimic the style of reality tv. These are also somewhat overlapping with the elements I pulled from the Jennifer Van Sjill book, especially cross-cutting to dramatize scenes.

I have never used the split screen effect before, so this tutorial was helpful in teaching me how to use it in Premiere Pro. This will be used for the phone call.

What I Learned and Problems I Solved

Through pre-production, I learned the importance of planning as the types of editing techniques I hope to utilize are mostly new to me, and therefore I will need to dedicate time in order to learn how to successfully use them in our film. Creating a storyboard with notations for everyone’s roles was difficult, as coming up with our initial idea for the film took up most of the allotted time for pre-production. By following the tutorials I found, I discovered new editing techniques I have not used before like the split screen. I also learned how to effectively apply the techniques of a montage, jump-cut, and cross-cutting and the effect they can h

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar